What does the "De-escalation Zones" mean?

Eldorar Alshamia Editor | 4 May, 2017

ElDorar AlShamia:

The broker countries (Turkey, Iran and Russia) on Thursday signed a memorandum on the establishment of "de-escalation zones” in Syria, while part of the delegation of the Syrian Revolutionary Forces left the closing session in protest against Iran's signing as a guarantor.

Russia and the Assad regime are committed to stop bombing and attacking each of the northern Homs countryside, Daraa, the Syrian south, Idlib province and parts of Aleppo and Lattakia. It is also expected that if the agreement succeeds, the separation forces will be deployed from neutral countries between the liberated areas and Assad forces’. "The task of extracting Jabhat al-Nusra from those areas is still unclear.”

The draft memorandum on Syria's "de-escalation zones " included a working group for the establishment of these zones within five days, with the recommendation of the guarantors to take the necessary measures to complete maps of the areas concerned by 22 May.

Media sources said that the deployment of soldiers from the BRIX countries (Brazil, Russia, India, China and South Africa) and the countries of the Collective Security Treaty (Armenia, Belarus, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Russia and Tajikistan) and other countries such as Egypt, Algeria and the UAE.

The parties in Astana agreed to set the date for the next round of talks in mid-July, and two weeks earlier, an expert meeting will be held in Ankara.

Russia has also pledged in the memorandum of understanding to work to open humanitarian corridors, without giving details.

Russia has made a number of commitments in previous agreements, but has not adhered to any of them, which failed all previous efforts to resolve the political situation in Syria.


Read more....

Main points of the revolution's delegation to #Astana to accept initiatives